New Plans / Upcoming Changes

You may or may not have noticed that I’ve been looking into changing things up for a while now. I had multiple polls on Twitter and I’ve mentioned a few things on my blog.

When I first started this channel, I never planned for it to have anything other than dance covers. Heck, I didn’t plan for it to have anything other than Hello! Project dance covers. But of course that changed when I started doing Vocaloid dances; that changed when I started making tutorials; that changed when YouTube Red hit and I decided to make vlogs so my viewers in the US would still have something to watch. Another change was my use of social media. I used to just post dance cover trivia and random posts on my blog, but then I got a Facebook page, and Twitter, and Instagram, and a Wiki page, though that one wasn’t made by me. So now I have all sorts of different videos that I make and, like I’ve been saying for a while, you can find me in a whole bunch of other places besides YouTube.

At this time, however, I’d like to scale back on what I’m doing. The thing I’ll be scaling back on the most is vlogging and other videos in which I talk a lot, and that’s for a few reasons.

1) Coming up with content – I don’t really do anything or go anywhere, so I don’t have much to talk about (I do still have some ideas saved up, though).
2) Messing up a lot – I trip over my words a LOT and sometimes I’ll completely forget what I was talking about.
3) Tons of ambient noise – The furnace, water going through the pipes, others walking around or talking, the dog barking, dishes rattling, the washing machine…
4) Perfectionism – I will sometimes not use a perfectly good take because I have literally one hair out of place. I’ll just film again and again and again… orz
5) Lots of filming and editing for very few views – Surimuchan [Now] #16 has been up for over a month and only has 87 views; Surimuchan [Now] #17 took me 55 takes to complete. O_O
6) Lack of motivation to film because of all of the previous problems

Just to quickly go over the types of videos I have:
Dance covers and MINI Clips – These will be my main focus.
SurimuChats – These will remain, but they’ll be about as frequent as they are now (which is not very frequent).
Surimuchan [Now] – The last one will be up at the end of this month. The questions/categories will then be answered in monthly blog posts.
H!P Vlogs – I have a few more topics that I’d like to dicuss in videos, but then I’ll go back to just posting this kind of stuff on my H!P blog.
Matching Costume – I can still explain the outfits in blog posts, but I will no longer be making videos for them.
Dance Challenges – These will continue.
MINI Tutorials – These will continue, but will be few and far between because they take a lot of time and effort. Even though they’re shorter than full tutorials, I still need to write out the tutorial, record the audio, film the steps, and then edit everything together.

Another thing to be aware of: this is the 78th week in a row that I’ve posted at least one video. I will no longer be forcing myself to upload something every week. Instead, I have very specific days on which I’d like to upload videos. They could be just a couple days apart, or they could be over a week apart. Whatever the case, I’ll be focusing on those days from now on.

As far as Surimuchan on social media, here’s what I’d like to try for a little while:

– Instead of updating my Facebook and Twitter pages with every video, I will instead post all of my videos on my blog, and then link to all of the posts for each month in one post at the end of the month, and then I’ll share that on Facebook and Twitter. (I won’t start doing this until May.)
– I’ll update my Wiki page at the end of each month.
– Instagram will continue to be updated regularly.

I started my YouTube channel to have fun (and bring some attention to H!P music), but now I seem to be constantly trying to outdo myself or even just keep up with myself and my goals. For the past year and a half or so, I’ve been keeping very close track of the number of views, subscribers, likes, follows, etc. I have. I would actually do the math to figure out how much I needed each day/week/month to make my goal by the end of the year. I turned into a number chaser, which is exactly what I never wanted to be. I never wanted to be saying, “I want to make it to this!” instead of “I want to make this!”

So, like I said, I’d like to go back to how it used to be (in a way), by focusing on H!P dance covers and my blog. I’m not giving up the other stuff completely (at least, not right now), so don’t worry about that. I’d just like to try to get back that happiness that I felt in my first year of dancing. I’m sorry if you don’t like some of the changes, but this is something that I felt I needed to try for a bit.

I hope you understand! Thank you for watching and reading~!

~ Stephanie
“Surimu-chan”

One Response to “New Plans / Upcoming Changes”

  1. Surimuchan Recap – April 2017 | スリム☆チャンネル Says:

    […] April 6th – New Plans / Upcoming Changes […]

Leave a Reply

