Berryz Koubou Ikube~!

I’m sure everyone who follows Hello! Project already knows about Berryz Koubou‘s announcement of their indefinite hiatus starting in the spring of 2015. To be honest, it hit me rather hard. The members of Berryz are closest to my age (of all of the H!P groups), and I always really enjoyed the originality of a lot of the songs they were given, even if they weren’t the highest-selling. Also, I often felt that Berryz got a bit cheated when it came to things like costumes, PVs, etc. orz

While it will be terribly sad to see them go, they’re not gone yet, so I’d really like to support them strongly until their hiatus (I know a lot of the translations are saying “suspension,” but that sounds so negative to me… so I’ll stick with “hiatus”). Because I’d say this is the biggest H!P news since the Elder Club graduation in 2009, I’d like to do something big.

What am I going to do? I haven’t the faintest idea. XD I’m going to do dance covers, of course, but I’d like do something else, too. I tweeted about working on a Berryz dance earlier using #BerryzKoboIkube (which kind of drives me insane because I usually romanize it as “Berryz Koubou.” XD However, in their YouTube videos, they romanize it as “Kobo,” so I decided to go with that.). For those that don’t know “Berryz Koubou Ikube~!” is their pre-concert shout (to get fired up etc.). I wonder if others would consider using this hashtag (or another; I’m not picky!) on a certain day to try to get Berryz trending. I know it can be done! Fans of the Johnny’s Entertainment group NEWS and their former member Yamashita Tomohisa (Yamapi) got #deadfisheyes to trend on Twitter to promote Yamapi’s single. XDD Maybe we could all use #BerryzKoboIkube the day their next single releases~! Just a thought…

What else? I usually buy their singles on iTunes (so I have quicker access to the music for dances), but maybe I’ll buy the physical copies for their upcoming singles, too. Wouldn’t that be amazing if they finally achieved number one on the Oricon weekly chart? I know it’s a stretch, but optimism, everyone, optimism~!! (I know there was an article about Oricon not counting overseas sales anymore, but I also read that YesAsia is a partner of Oricon, and that’s where I order my CDs, soo…) ^__^

Another thought was encouraging others to dance to “Futsuu, Idol 10nen Yatterannai Desho!?” I think it’s appropriate for the situation (and, argh, if that song hasn’t become suddenly bittersweet). TT_TT Either the regular dance or, though I hesitate to suggest it because I don’t want to sound big-headed, my tribute version would work, I think. OOH, what if others chose their own moves from every Berryz song to use?! (I’m totally just writing whatever I think of now. XD)

I’m kind of on the fence about my last idea, which is a Berryz-related collaboration. I’d have to figure out what song and how many people and a due date and such, but it could be a possibility if I could find time to do it…

I don’t know. What are everyone’s thoughts? Feel free to reply (on here or Facebook or YouTube or Twitter) and let me know what you think.

Lastly, I mentioned watching out for a poll on my Facebook page. I’m going to start learning “Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni,” but, for this poll, I’m going to list a few random Berryz Koubou songs/dances, and I would like you to choose your favorite. The dance that has the most votes at the end of the month will be the next Berryz dance I do (after “Ai wa Itsumo…”). I will have three polls like this, each with five different dances. Voting will last one month for each one.

Okay! That’s what I have to say about that. Berryz Koubou Ikube~~~~!!! XD

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

