~2013 Wrap-Up Post~

Here it is~! My year-end post! I only did twenty-two dances this year (not including tutorials, mirrored and/or slowed videos, and miscellaneous videos). Ah~… orz The following is just a few thoughts I had for each dance (listed in order of upload). I just wrote without really thinking, so it might be sort of… all over the place. XD

1. MEGARE!
– I really love this song, and the dance is fun! Short dances always make me happy because… well, they’re short. I rather like the outfit for this one (except that the bow wouldn’t stay on straight and my shorts looked odd…). ^_^

2. Onegai Dakara…
– This is a fairly simple dance, but I love the song, so I’ve wanted to do this one for quite a while. Overall, I’m pleased with how this one turned out despite a few minor errors and some slight timing issues. The outfit was a little on the bland side. =/

3. Help me!!
– This was originally going to be an epic, split screened dance cover where I would have Riho’s part throughout while other parts would fade in and out (kind of like I did with my UP UP GIRLS dance covers except on a larger scale). That plan was abandoned when I realized I just didn’t have the time or energy to do it (which is sad because I had all of the outfits and split times/parts written out and ready). orz Anyway, this is a great dance, and I really love the song (it reminds me of Christmas, because I was learning the dance around Christmas time last year). The outfit wasn’t my favorite, but I didn’t have too many options… (^_^”)>

4. Suki yo, Junjou Hankouki.
– This wasn’t my most accurate, which is why I don’t really like watching it. That’s unfortunate, because this is probably one of my favorite outfits from this year’s dances. I really like this song and dance even though I messed up quite a bit… m(_ _)m

5. Be Genki <Naseba Naru!>
– I’m not sure if this one should really count for this year, because I actually filmed it last May (before I started working), but YouTube wouldn’t let me upload it until this year for whatever reason. (-_-“) The dance was super fun (yes, even the “directing traffic” arm movements during the chorus XD), and the song makes me really happy. And that outfit!! I have a cape~~!! I also really liked the bright primary colors combined with the mostly-black outfit.

6. Watashi no Mirai no Danna-sama
– This was another dance that I’ve wanted to do for quite a long time (I can’t believe I had already started dancing when this song came out! WHAAAAAT…). Again, it’s a fun dance (that’s usually a prerequisite for me), and I especially love the dance break, but I feel like it would have looked better if I had been more stable on my feet. =( I suppose the boots do kind of make the outfit, though. Speaking of which, I suppose this was a nice outfit, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. Besides the boots, the new location for this dance cover got a lot of attention.

7. Brainstorming
– I love the dance battle and dance break for this dance! I was really happy with how the editing turned out for those parts. =D However, I am not happy with how flaily I was for parts of this dance. orz I also kind of wish I could have found red and blue outfits instead of black and white, because it seems like I’m always wearing black and white… That being said, I rather liked the outfit I had for Riho’s part. ^_^ The split screened sections for this dance are always fun to see, but, much like “Help me!!,” they were supposed to be more complicated and numerous. Lack of time boiled it down to a few seconds for each member’s part. orz

8. Asian Celebration
– I may go ahead and say that this was one of my favorite dances to learn this year. =D It’s just a really fun dance and an upbeat song, so I had a blast doing it. ^__^ The “vampire” move is probably still my favorite. XD I was mostly pleased with the outfit, though I wish the zebra print fringe would have been more pronounced.

9. Crazy Kanzen na Otona
– I was really, reeeaaallly wary about this dance, because some of the moves are a little more mature than I would like, but my love for the song and the rest of the dance eventually outweighed my discomfort at those few moves. As for the outfit… I rather like it, except for the fact that the shorts don’t look as purple on screen as they do in real life. (-_-*) How about that new location? Those of you who have been following me for a long time may remember this as the area I filmed my very first split screen attempt (super-short dance cover of “Sprinter!” which was only up for download). I’d like to try filming there more… as long as I can avoid the bees. XD

10. Watashi ga Iu Mae ni Dakishimenakya ne
– Black and white again. XD There are a few hints of yellow, though, so I guess that helps a bit. I’m also wearing earrings, which is really rare for my videos. Overall, I was pleased with how this one turned out. I didn’t notice any super-glaring mistakes that will make me hate myself each time I hear the song (as is the problem with other dances I’ve done orz), so that’s a plus. The opening moves (not the immediate opening moves, but the ones just after those that are repeated later) are a lot of fun~.

11. Minimoni. Kazoe Uta ~Date Version~
– And here we have probably the best background of the year even though it was in my usual dancing spot. Whee~, a carnival! XD This was a cute one, but I always feel kind of silly watching it, because I can’t really pull off cute. XD

12. Onaji Jikyuu de Hataraku Tomodachi no Bijin Mama
– This was one of my favorite outfits from this year’s dances. I’m a bit disappointed that I wasn’t able to make a candy cane “microphone” for this, but at least I finally got this dance done! XD I’ve been meaning to do it ever since the song first came out. I rather like my energy for this one, and, of course, the tiny split-screened section.

13. LOVE Machine (Dance Collaboration)
– I always love watching collaborations I’ve done, because I think it’s so neat to watch someone who’s anywhere from hundreds to thousands of miles away dancing on screen with me. =D That being said, I’m very grateful to those who took part in this collaboration and very honored to have worked with them~. Thank you! ^_^ The dance itself, in my opinion, was fairly simple, so that left room for extra energy and, in some parts, creativity. As far as my outfits are concerned for this dance, they were all pretty generic, I guess. orz It was kind of fun to half-cosplay for that one part around 2:50 though. XD

14. Kimi Sae Ireba Nani mo Iranai
– I… kind of love how the opening turned out (and all of the split-screened parts, actually). XD This dance took me forever to finish because there’s not much going on, so any mistakes I made would have been really obvious. orz I rather like how the black and yellow looked together for this outfit, but it was, again, pretty generic. Also, the chorus of this song is still one of my favorite things to sing~.

15. Ai no Gundan
– I was afraid that this outfit would look too much like the one I wore for “Asian Celebration,” but I guess the hat, boots, and jacket (as well as the lack of zebra print) make it different enough… As for the dance, I love doing the dance break for this one, but I didn’t do it well. orz I don’t like watching this one much, because I had really wanted to split screen at least part of it, but I didn’t have the time or energy to do so. There are a few obvious mistakes in this, too. m(_ _)m

16. Uppercut!
– This daaaaance~! I think this one has to be another of my favorite dances that I learned this year~. The outfit is probably one of the most boring, but I had so much fun with the dance, that I hardly notice. XD This has what is probably one of my absolute favorite dance breaks. =D I was also happy with the in-and-out split screening in this one; I had been wanting to do that for a while. ^_^

17. Barebare I LOVE YOU
– Whee~, all of the bright colors~! =D Again, I love this song and dance, and I was happy with how my dance cover turned out. I think the outfits and the split-screened sections were better for this one, while the dance might have been a little more interesting for “Uppercut!”

18. co.no.mi.chi
– I was really happy with the split-screened sections in this one; even though there were supposed to be more of them, I think it works out well with the amount I had here. The main outfit for this dance cover is another favorite for 2013. There were a few rough spots for my dancing, but it wasn’t anything too terrible. (^_^”)> I got a little nostalgic doing a Buono! dance cover again… ^_^

19. Tell Your World [Short Vers.]
– I think it needs to be said… this has to be my favorite outfit for this year, and it’s defiinitely one of my top five favorites for all of my dance outfits. ^__^ This dance cover as well… it has to be one of my favorites for this year. I love how the coloring turned out, the dancing wasn’t terrible (though I still spotted a mistake or two), and the length was perfect. XD

20. CLAP HIP CHERRY
– This dance is really fun, and the song is adorable, so I’d say that it’s in my top ten favorite dances for this year, perhaps even top five (the dance itself at least). The outfit, while cute in a way, borders on my usual, boring choices. XD orz

21. Wagamama Ki no Mama Ai no Joke
– From this dance, I learned that I shouldn’t try to put my own spin on dances. orz I was rather proud of it when I filmed it (even without the split screening that I wanted), and I still love doing the dance break that comes just before the verses, but this one didn’t seem to be very well received, which makes me kind of dislike it, too. TT_TT The outfit at least looked kind of cool.

22. Wa~ MERRY PIN Xmas!
– The wintry background that I usually have for my Christmas dances was missing in this one, but at least I had a little bit of decoration. (^_^”)> To be honest, I was really happy learning this dance, because there wasn’t a dance shot to compare it to; that made it a little more difficult to figure out the moves, but also somewhat more relaxing. XD Maybe I should do more of the older dances/dances without dance shots to lower my stress levels. XD As with my Minimoni. dance cover, it was a bit strange for me to do this one, because I don’t pull off cutesy moves very well. The outfits weren’t Christmas-y in the least, but they went with the song’s theme, so… (^_^”)> While I liked the ending clip for this one, I think my favorite ending clip for a Christmas dance cover is probably the one after “Oujisama to Yuki no Yoru.”

Well, those are all the dance covers I did this year. I’ve kind of given up picking favorites anymore, because I have something that I like about all of my dances~. How about you? Do you have a top ten or five or three for the dances I’ve done this year? Is there one that you would have liked better in a different location or if it was split-screened? Please let me know~!!

Lastly, I would just like to thank everyone for sticking with me throughout 2013. I’ve had a pretty rough year, so the fact that you’re all still watching my videos and commenting on them (if YouTube lets you… (-_-*)) really makes me happy. (Speaking of comments, please check out the annotation that I added to my FAQ video in regards to comment replies.) Even after the long breaks between dances, even after I stopped making tutorials and taking requests, even after some sub-par videos, you’re still watching, and I can’t thank you enough for that~.

Though 2014 will probably bring some more changes to my channel and videos (some quite significant), I hope you’ll still continue to support me throughout the year~.

Thank you again, everyone, for all of your support, and I hope everyone has a great New Year~! ^__^

~ Stephanie
– Surimu-chan

2 Responses to “~2013 Wrap-Up Post~”

  1. BalancedSpirit79 Says:

    Hey Steph! I know this is belated but I finally got around to picking my favs of last year:

    Help me!!: Honestly, this is just straight up well done. When you want to rock a dance, you simply do it. This one was a joy to watch.

    Be Genki <Naseba Naru!>: This made me want to go out and play Dance Dance Revolution again! It looked like you were having fun and that always makes the dance that much more enjoyable. You flowed with the music really well.

    Watashi no Mirai no Danna-sama: This was fun because it felt like a change of pace because of the locale. For some reason it fit the feel of the dance and music.

    Crazy Kanzen na Otona: Another great dance with precision movements. I still laugh because of your finger, lol. 🙂

    Watashi ga Iu Mae ni Dakishimenakya ne: This dance makes you look like you don’t have a care in the world and you just want to cut loose and dance and have fun. That feeling which you capture in the video is contagious.

    LOVE Machine Dance Collaboration: So awesome that you were able to put this together!! You did a great job organizing and you (as well as everyone that joined in) should be proud!! 😀

    Barebare I LOVE YOU: This one was so cute and had such a positive energy; this is my favorite dance of 2013!!! Also, I don’t care what you say, the “chu” at the end was adorable. 😛

    Wagamama Ki no Mama Ai no Joke: Once again, straight up professional and precise. It caught my eye because of the unorthodox moves.

    Congrats on another year!! Keep up the awesome work!!
    -BalancedSpirit79

    • Surimu-chan Says:

      Well, it looks like my reply is belated, too, so no worries. XD To be honest, I was surprised to see “Wagamama Ki no Mama Ai no Joke” on your list… probably because I’ve totally been beating myself up over my move changes and mistakes. orz Whenever I get comments (or even just one comment) saying that a dance wasn’t my best/up to par with others, I end up avoiding that video (and, sometimes, the song) for a long time, because, you know, I’m five years old, and I obviously can’t handle criticism. XD Seriously though, seeing that you liked it enough to have it on your favorite list makes me feel a bit better about it~. ^_^ I think “Barebare I LOVE YOU” makes me happy because of the bright colors… I’m a sucker for bright colors. XD Thank you for writing~~!!

Leave a Reply

