Surimu-chan’s 2010 Wrap Up – Part 2: Surimu-chan’s Favorites

These are my top ten Surimuchan videos of 2010 (if I had included 2009 videos, you can believe that “恋のダンスサイト” would be in this list).

MY BOY – I think one reason I like this video so much is because of my outfits. XD I also really liked the fading in and out effect, and I was (and still am) quite proud of how the whole thing turned out, despite the timing being slightly off in parts. I was tired by the time I got around to filming Miyabi’s part, and I kept messing up, which was frustrating me, but I think that makes the finished product even more gratifying to watch, because I know how much work I put into it.

ルカルカ★ナイトフィーバー (Luka★Luka Night Fever) – This was my first non-H!P dance cover. I actually didn’t work on it as long as one might think (I hope that doesn’t sound too big-headed of me), because I really liked the song and the dance, so I just seemed to figure it out fairly quickly. Also… I really like this outfit, too. My mom had trimmed my hair just before I did the dance as well, so I felt all shiny and new, if you understand my meaning. XD

Bravo☆Bravo – I think the thing that I like most about this dance is how happy it made me. I remember being in an extremely good mood while dancing to this. It might have been because the dance was fairly easy for me, or because I knew a lot of the lyrics, or a combination of both. Whatever it was, even though the video wasn’t too terribly impressive, I had an awesome time making it, and that’s really the reason I started dancing in the first place. ^__^

好きな先輩 (Suki na Senpai) – Ah~, what can be said about this that I haven’t already said? I just love it. ♥ It kind of embarrasses me, because it’s so cheesy, and I cover my face every time I watch it. XD I think it’s because I really don’t see myself as being cute (in high school, one of my friends told me that my normal face looked like I was giving everyone a death glare orz), and this song is undeniably cute. But I think the simple charm of the video (ah, I shouldn’t be saying such nice things about my own videos (^_^”)>) emphasizes the cuteness of the song.

Surimuchan’s Bloopers – This video was a long time in the making. As I said in the description, I started saving bloopers when I was making “恋のダンスサイト.” This is also the first time I had my voice audible on YouTube (right in the beginning when I just say, “Uh?!” XD). (Did anyone else think the “ペッパー警部” blooper looked like it was in better quality?!) Anyway, I had fun doing the outdoor scenes where I was just running around and generally making a fool out of myself. It’s a good video for a laugh. XD

夢見る 15歳 (Yume Miru 15sai) – … Another outfit that I like. XD This dance was another one that came to me fairly quickly. I tried to put some power into my moves, which proved painful; I hurt my neck practicing the head snaps and couldn’t turn my head for a few days. (^_^”)> However~, I got over it, and filmed the video. =D I think it turned out rather nice. It had zero dislikes for the longest time, but, after it became a featured video, somebody had to go and dislike it. *sigh*

Surimuchan’s Special 50th Video – I had the idea to have appearances from all of my dance covers in one video for months before I got to work on it. It was an arduous task to film and put together all of the clips, but that made the final video so very satisfying. I believe this video will always be one of my biggest accomplishments. ^_^

Do it! Now – I believe I’ve explained how much I love doing older H!P dances. ❤ Other than that, I don’t know what it is about this one that I like so much. Maybe it reminds me of when I first started looking at H!P dances back in early 2008; I would learn a few moves and just do those parts of the dance during the song while I tried (and failed) to sing along. XD I really like the windmilling arm movements in this.

虫のこえ (Mushi no Koe) – I think this, like my 50th video, is another of my greatest accomplishments: a quadruple split screen dance and animated borders. I pulled out quite a few stops to make this (… including that crazy headband XD). I rather like the mostly same-y-ness of the outfits as well. This is almost like a proper PV, except, you know, it was filmed in my basement. XD

抱きしめて 抱きしめて (Dakishimete Dakishimete) – This is one of my favorite H!P dances ever. Even back when I didn’t know the dance properly, I felt so cool dancing to this song. I was going to say, “I especially like the first thirty seconds of the song,” but then I kept watching, and I realized that I really just like the entire dance. =)

—Honorable Mentions—

LOVE & JOY – This one caused me a lot of trouble, because, if I messed up, I’d have to wait for a while to try again; it took a lot of energy out of me. I remember, on one take, I messed up in the last twenty seconds or so. I felt like crying. T_T However, I can honestly say this may be one of my most accurate dance covers. ^_^

都会っ子 純情 (Tokaikko Junjou) – I really love the beginning of the dance (well, not quite the beginning; the part after Maimi finishes speaking) and the dance break. Also, this song reminds me of Tacos at Midnight-flavored Doritos and the Colosseum area of “Castlevania: Symphony of the Night.” XD Those are always the first things that pop into my head when I hear this song. (^_^”)>

ぴったりしたい X’mas! (Pittari Shitai X’mas!) – I think this is another one that I like because it reminds me of when I first started listening to H!P music; I would dance to the chorus of this song a lot. =D I was also pleased with how my video turned out, despite the split screen problems. (^_^”)>

BONUS~!

Here are my mom’s favorite 2010 Surimuchan videos!

MY BOY
ルカルカ★ナイトフィーバー (Luka Luka Night Fever)
恋愛レボリューション21 (Renai Revolution 21)
LOVE & JOY
夢見る 15歳 (Yume Miru 15sai)
あなたなしでは生きてゆけない (Anata Nashi de wa Ikite Yukenai)
RIVER
Do it! Now
PARTY TIME
抱きしめて 抱きしめて (Dakishimete Dakishimete)

Honorable Mentions

好きな先輩 (Suki na Senpai)
MADAYADE
チャンス チャンス ブギー (Chance Chance Boogie)

She hated picking because she said she likes them all, and I kind of have to agree. There’s something about each of my videos that’s special to me, be it a memory that I associate with the song or dance, a kind comment that someone left, or the fact that it was the first “something” (request, special effects, PV, etc.).

So… do you have a top ten~?

~ Surimu-chan

4 Responses to “Surimu-chan’s 2010 Wrap Up – Part 2: Surimu-chan’s Favorites”

  1. Yuuki Says:

    Stephanie~

    Hi, How are you? How kind of you to updating your blog regularly!

    I tried to make a selection of 2010’s surimuchan’s videos. But, It was difficult to pick out top10 ranking for me. So, I decided to pick out my favorite your videos according to sections. Please forgive me about my unauthorized adoption.

    Special effect section
    ・Surimchan’s Special 50th Video
    ・Suki na Senpai
    ・Mushi no Koe

    Lovely[cuteness]section
    ・PARTY TIME
    ・Pittari Shitai X’mas!
    ・Koi no vacance

    Cool section
    ・Pepper Keibu
    ・UFO
    ・Onna to Otoko no lullaby Game

    Genki[energy]section
    ・Meguru Koi no Kisetsu
    ・Yume Miru 15sai
    ・RIVER

    Honorable Mentions
    ・Surimchan’s Bloopers
    ・Seishun Collection
    ・Balalaika

    Hmm… I may change my mind if I watched all your videos once again.
    I’ll leave comment for each my favorite your videos bit by bit on your previous blog or youtube page, Say yes!

    ~Yuuki

    • Surimu-chan Says:

      Yuuki~

      Hi~! I’m doing just fine. ^_^ How are you? I’m glad that you’re reading my blog; I just wish I had some more interesting things to post. (^_^”)>

      I was so excited to see your list! I didn’t think I’d actually get any answers, so I’m really happy! ^__^ I think I like your way of doing it more. =D

      I look forward to hearing your thoughts on any videos that you watch~. Thanks again, so very much!

      ~ Stephanie

  2. BalancedSpirit79 Says:

    Well, here goes my top 10. The first is there for a reason, but the rest are in no particular order.

    1. Yuujou ~Kokoro no Busu ni wa Naranee!
    I couldn’t not put this here. 🙂 I noticed that noone had ever done an Otome Gumi cover and I knew you would do the dance justice. I was home sick from work on the day this was uploaded and when I saw it I was all, “Holy crap she actually did my request!”

    2. MY WINGS
    You seemed really confident in this video. I like how you had a slight smirk while you were kicking. It was as if you were thinking, “Heck yeah, I’m 20!” as you were doing it.

    3. Anataboshi
    君の頭はどこだ?wwww ;D

    4. Kuuzen Miman wa Misenaide
    Not only did you do a great job overall, it’s easy to tell that you were having fun with the dance because of the smile you had on. Watching someone doing something they really like to do is always enjoyable.

    5. H!P Medley Dance Challenge
    This was an interesting change of pace, plus I like how you did the “Ne~e?” part.

    6. Bravo☆Bravo
    I became a fan of Buono! because of this dance, not to mention you did great.

    7. Tsukiatteru no ni Kataomoi
    Same as #6, but replace Buono! with Berryz Koubou.

    8. Campus Life ~Umarete Kite Yokatta
    Once again, same as #6, but replace Buono! with C-ute. 🙂

    9. Onna to Otoko no Lullaby Game
    It was really cool watching you focus so much during this dance. You were on point with all your movements. I consider this video a milestone because it shows how far you’ve come.

    10. Surimuchan’s Special 50th Video
    This was innovative, funny and just plain awesome. I especially like the part where the “glove thief” was caught and #7 was so disgusted that she just left.

    Honorable mentions:

    1. Chance Chance Boogie
    This was short, cute and fun, plain and simple.

    2. Surimuchan’s Blindfolded Dance Challenge – PARTY TIME
    This was another cool deviation from the norm. It was funny when you smacked the wall. 🙂

    3. Surimuchan’s Bloopers 2
    The outtakes were funny and your laughter was infectious.

    And I agree, if 2009 videos counted, “Koi No Dance Site” would definitely be on my list. 😀

    -BalancedSpirit79

    • Surimu-chan Says:

      Aaah~, I was so excited when I saw another comment on this post! XD

      In regards to “Yuujou…,” I was really surprised that I got a request at that time, as I was still fairly new to dancing. I was determined to do it, though, and I was happy when I saw your comment on it. ^_^

      I was thrilled with 6-8 on here. =D As H!P’s popularity seems to be waning, when I started dancing, it was a goal of mine to get others interested in the groups again (or for the first time) with my videos.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment on here! And thank you so much for your support! ^__^

      ~ Stephanie

Leave a Reply

