♠ Random Facts ♠ – Thanks to Final Fantasy…

Random Fact #5: As I mentioned yesterday, it was mostly thanks to the movie Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children that I really got into Japanese music (and Japan in general).
When I was about ten-years-old, one of my brothers introduced me to the Final Fantasy Legend games, and I loved them and spent hours playing them.
After a while, I forgot about them, but then, when I was in middle school/high school (my school had Kindergarten through 12th grade in the same building, so we didn’t really have a middle school; K-6 was elementary, 7-12 was high school), my oldest brother (who worked at the video store) rented Advent Children, and I thought it was amazing. He bought it for me afterward, and, like I said before, I watched it twice a day for at least a week (which is ridiculous, I know). I spent hours on the Internet looking up stuff about the characters; that’s when I happened upon a link to a fan-video of Vincent Valentine (my favorite character in the movie) on YouTube (this was also the first time I used YouTube).
I noticed a related video that had clips of the (then new) Dirge of Cerberus game, so, of course, I had to watch it. I really liked the music in the background (Gackt’s “REDEMPTION”), but I didn’t really pursue anything further, because we had such a slow Internet connection. I did get the song, though, and I listened to it all the time for about a year, I think.
We moved in 2007, and we had a better connection at our new house, so I decided to look up more of Gackt’s music. From his music, I found artists like Malice Mizer and Miyavi, but also, oddly enough, Morning Musume. I saw both of them on a random YouTube clip, thought it was hilarious, and had to find out more about the girls in the sailor uniforms (they were promoting “The Peace!” at the time, I assume).
Upon typing “Morning Musume” in the search bar, I found the PVs for “Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari,” “Kanashimi Twilight,” “Happy Summer Wedding,” and “The Peace!” to name a few. I watched “”Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari” first, and was a bit confused, because I didn’t think there had been that many of them. Then I watched “”Happy Summer Wedding” and “The Peace!” and was even more confused because there were different members again. XD After a while, I figured everything out, though. I started listening to Berryz Koubou and °C-ute some time after.
At one point, I was looking for Ayaka’s Surprise English Lessons, and I happened upon a clip of Aiba Masaki of Arashi speaking English. I loved the clip, so I had to find out more about him (are you seeing a pattern?) From there I found Arashi.
Another time, I was looking for a clip of Morning Musume talking about their latest single (“Resonant Blue” at that time), and I saw a really brightly-colored thumbnail in the related videos called “NEWS SUMMER TIME Performance.” I watched it… and the pattern repeated. XD After that, I found the rest of the Johnny’s groups.
From there, I started watching dramas, and consequently, heard more music and recognized more actors/actresses.
So… that’s how it happened. XD

~ Surimu-chan

Leave a Reply

